2011 Crescent City Classic 10k Expo

22 Apr

The 2011 Crescent City Classic 10k Expo this afternoon was TONS of fun! I’ll be the first to admit that I am a total running expo geek. I love love love checking out the booths of upcoming races in my area and seeing all booths with new gear for me to drool over.

The 2011 Crescent City Classic 10k Expo definitely did not disappoint! Granted, it wasn’t nearly as big as the expo for the Rock N Roll Mardi Gras Marathon, but the event isn’t as big, so that was expected.

My first stop was at The Louisiana Marathon booth where I got to chat with Craig Sweeney and Pat Fellows. They were super nice and really got me excited about The LA Marathon on January 15, 2012. I’m not sure I’ll be in full marathon racing mode by then with Baby Key arriving in November, but I’m might be able to squeak out the half marathon. *fingerscrossed*

Craig Sweeney and Pat Fellows

Next up was the Gulf Coast Half Marathon booth. I ran the Gulf Coast Half Marathon in Pensacola, FL just a few weeks ago and loved it. The medals are beer bottle openers! Super fun! There is a sister half marathon coming up in October on the Louisiana Northshore. Again, not sure that I’ll be up for it at 8 months pregnant, but hey, I’m not counting it out yet! Ha!

Gulf Coast Half Marathon

After that, I visited with Cesar Torres from Q50 Ultras and Jennifer Radecker from Louisiana Running Company. Cesar got me all jazzed up about the Q50 USA 2011 Bogue Chitto State Park. There will be 1mi, 5mi, and 10mi options, and with the June heat, I’m pretty sure I’ll be maxing out with the 5mi route. Jennifer and I chatted about KSwiss running shoes and about the cool KSwiss truck that visited the Happy’s Running Group in Baton Rouge on Tuesday night!

My last stop was a the One More Mile booth where I spied this jewel of a t-shirt:

One More Mile

I laughed because this shirt is SO me! What would I do without my Garmin Forerunner 405??

I was in a bit of a hurry, so I didn’t have a chance to swing by a lot of the booths…especially the one that smelled the best…the Blue Runner bean booth. Yes, I know it sounds weird to have a booth about red beans at a running expo, but this is South Louisiana, so its definitely not out of place here. Those red beans smelled DELICIOUS but my parking meter was running out of time and I had to boogie!

Overall, the expo was a lot of fun and I got to meet a lot of great people and put a lot of faces with names! Now I’m looking forward to the main event on Saturday morning!

Happy running, y’all!

2 Responses to “2011 Crescent City Classic 10k Expo”

  1. Erica Martin April 23, 2011 at 12:17 AM #

    I LOVED talking with the LA Marathon people, I’m super excited about that race! And you have to check out onemoremile.net – that’s where I get all my raceday shirts, they have some very funny slogans. For the CCC tomorrow I’m wearing “Dear God, Please Let there be someone behind me to read this.”

    • katieRUNSthis April 23, 2011 at 12:20 AM #

      I love the One More Mile shirts! They are at a lot of races and they always have gear that makes me giggle! I’ve seen that shirt your wearing and I almost bought it back in February for the Rock N Roll Mardi Gras Marathon! This year I saw the “Toenails are for sissies!” that I really liked!

Leave a Reply

