The Boston Marathon = Inspiration!

20 Apr

The Boston Marathon on Monday morning got my week off to a great start. In previous years, I was never really been interested in who wins these big events. However, over the past year, I have really found myself interested in the sports of running and triathlon…you know, keeping up with the pro athletes and things like that. On Monday, I totally found myself watching the Twitter updates about the Boston Marathon (couldn’t watch it online at work…but I would have!) as if I was a five year old and I was seeing Sesame Street Live for the first time! I was giddy every time an American would take the lead and I found myself getting upset when I found out one fell into the pack. It was incredible. For once, I really felt involved.

I am inspired by Ryan Hall because how he attributes his amazing physical achievements to his faith.

I am inspired by Kara Goucher for not only running the Boston Marathon, but for being the 5th female finisher, only 7 months after giving birth to her son. Oh, and for looking like THIS…
Kara Goucher
…on the cover of the May 2011 issue or Runner’s World.

I am inspired by Desiree Davila for being the 2nd female finisher, the first American woman to do so in 18 years.

I am inspired by Clarence Hartley because after fighting wars in Korea and Vietnam, and battling lymphoma and prostate cancer, this 81-year-old still qualified for and finished the Boston Marathon.

These athletes have given so much to be where they are. They have trained like champions, often sacrificing time with family and friends for it. I just can’t help but be overwhelmed and awed by it.

To them, I give a gigantic round of applause. From them, I take some serious inspiration.

Happy Running!

Leave a Reply

